Overview

Terms in SchoolAdmin refer to the periods in which students apply and enroll. These are typically school years (e.g. 2021-2022), but some schools may have programs that are longer or shorter in duration. Watch the video or read on below to learn how to manage settings on the Terms setup page.

A Note on Term-Based Fields

Some fields in SchoolAdmin are term-based, which means they can store unique data per term that the student is in for admissions or enrollment - click here for the full list. Non-term-based fields, especially those that drive tuition and fees, will need to be cleared out each year.


How-To: Manage Terms & Settings

Access the Terms setup page by navigating to 'Settings' -> 'General' -> 'Terms'. Within this page, you have access to a few different settings, as described below.

* Add a New Term *

Click the green 'Add a New Term' button in the upper left to create a new term (school year) in your site.

You will be required to enter a name (how the term will display throughout the system) as well as a start year for the new term being added.

You can follow the format of the existing terms in your site as a reference. To confirm adding the new term, click the blue 'Submit' button.

* Edit Existing Terms *

You can change the name or start year for any existing terms by clicking on the blue pencil icon in the rightmost column. Please note: If you are using the FACTS Integration, it is very important that your term names in SchoolAdmin match what is in FACTS. Changing the name could cause errors.

* Default Year for Reporting *

Within the 'Default for Reporting' drop-down menu, you can select the term that you want to use as the default on all list pages (admissions and enrollment), searches, and reports. You will still be able to view other terms using filter options.

We recommend using the current school year as your default. This can be changed at any time.

* Terms Available on Inquiry / Application Forms *

You can manage which Terms will appear to families on your inquiry form and application form by toggling the buttons underneath the Available on Inquiry Forms and Available on Application Forms headers. These two options can be set separately, which is useful in cases where you want to allow families to inquire about a future term, but you don't want to open applications for that term just yet.

Changes will be saved automatically. As a best practice, switch off any old years and stay up to date with current and future years for your forms.

Please note: If you are logged in as an Admin/User, you will be able to view ALL past terms when filling out an inquiry or application. However, parents/students will only see the terms that are toggled to 'Yes' on the Terms setup page.

--

Now that the Terms have been set up, you can review the checklists and forms associated with each term (within 'Settings' -> 'Checklists') to ensure these items are up-to-date for any newly created or activated school years. Click here for more information.


How-To: Use the Data Management Tool

The Data Management tool lets you manage which checklist item data and/or review data you would like to permanently delete for a selected term (school year). This is useful for schools that want to purge their system of certain forms and uploaded documents year-over-year or for schools that want to clear our review data from prior years for re-applicants.

Please note: The Data Management column on the Terms setup page is only visible to System Admins. This column will not display for Admins, Users, or Limited Users.

To use the Data Management tool, follow these steps:

1. Click on the red pencil button next to the term from which you want to delete data.

2. The 'Manage Data Retention' window will appear. Check off the boxes for all items you wish to permanently delete.

3. Click the blue 'Confirm' button at the bottom.

4. To complete the process, you will be asked to confirm that you understand this data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Type the word 'DELETE' into the box, and then click on the blue 'Submit' button (which will only become available once the word is typed) to confirm the action.

Data Management Audit History

To see an audit history of all deleted data, click on the blue book icon next to the 'Data Management' column header. 

In the audit log, you can view a history of all times the data management tool has been used, including when it was run, the term, the name of the user that completed the action, whether review data was removed or not, and which checklist items were deleted.


Related Articles

Did this answer your question?