Overview

Within the Search & Reports tab, you can create a variety of custom searches and reports, each of which can be saved for repeated reference at various points in your process to get the most up-to-date metrics. When saving a search, the results will update each time you refer back to it. A few useful examples of saved searches include admissions or enrollment counts, event registration, custom financial reports, and directories.

Click here to watch a video tutorial on how to use Search & Reports.


How-To: Save a Search

Once you've entered your search criteria, set your reporting view, and added any other data columns to your report,  you can click on the green Save button in the upper right.

In the Save Current Search window that appears, you will be asked to enter a Name for your search and set the Visibility:

  • Shared: The search is visible on the Saved Searches page to all admin accounts that are set up in SchoolAdmin (with the exception of Limited Users).

  • Private: The search is visible on the Saved Searches page ONLY to the person who saves the search. No other users will be able to see the search, unless the visibility is changed to Shared.

Once you have set the name and visibility for your search, click on the blue Save button to confirm the save. Your search will be accessible within the Saved Searches sub-tab moving forward - see the section below for more information.


How-To: View & Edit a Saved Search

To view one of your existing saved searches, click into the Search & Reports tab -> Saved Searches sub-tab.  Within this page, you will see the columns described below:

Name: This is the name of the saved search. You can open the search by clicking on the name.

Report Type: This is the reporting view of the saved search (i.e. list, list with grouping, summary, or graph).

Date Created: This is the date at which the saved search was originally created.

Visibility: This will indicate if your search is private (visible to your admin account only) or shared (visible to all SchoolAdmin admin/user accounts).

Owner: This is the name of the person who created or last updated the saved search. If the admin account associated with the person who created or last updated the saved search has been deleted, the owner column will say 'User deleted'.

Actions: Here you have two options:

  • Edit will allow you to edit the search criteria, add/remove columns and change your reporting view. Once you update your search and click the save button, you can update the name and visibility of the search. You also have the option to update the current search or save it as a new search. 'Update this search' will write over the current search and save it. 'Save as new' will create another version of the search and the old version will remain the same. Make sure you rename your search to something unique if you use the 'Save as new' option.

  • Delete will permanently delete the saved search. You will be asked to confirm that you wish to delete the saved search. This action cannot be reversed.


How-To: Export Search Results

To provide more flexibility with search results, you can export a current or saved search by clicking on the green Export button in the upper right of the page. You have several export options, as described below.

  • Export raw data to CSV: Exports your search data to a .CSV file.

  • Export raw data to Excel: Exports your search data to a .XLS file.

  • Export as import template: Exports your search data in a format that can be used to import back into SchoolAdmin (using the contacts' unique SchoolAdmin IDs). Click here to learn more.

  • Export as Billing import template: Exports the students in the search in a format that can be used to import Billing transactions back into SchoolAdmin. This option is ONLY available to schools using the SchoolAdmin Billing module. Click here to learn more.

After selecting an export option, the Export window will appear and you'll be notified that your results are being processed. During this step, you can click Cancel Export or the X button in the upper right of the window to stop exporting the data.

Once the export has been processed, you'll be notified that your export is complete with a hyperlink to click and download the file.


Related Articles

Did this answer your question?